Writing focus

I have been working in isolation. I wrote out the rough draft of 6 books over a short few months. They were handwritten and very rough with missing scenes sketched in when the inspiration of exactly how to show that part of the story was not there.

This was followed by a few months of reading about how to write at any opportunity. I devoured books. I carried my Kindle everywhere and read whenever I wasn’t at work. I didn’t watch hardly any television. I read and studied and took some notes.

Then I started taking the handwritten notes and using Dragon Natural Speech and typing put the words into Scrivener. That is when the panic set in. Did I have any real ability to write a novel?  Sure, I loved the story but could I tell it well?

When I was a child, I won first place in a fiction writing contest against children much older than myself. I never wrote fiction again until these books, these stories. What did I know about being an author?

I had a pile of notebooks full of the stories and the characters were literally coming into my thoughts demanding to reveal more about themselves, more about their story. So, I refused to give up and continued to get the handwritten scribbles into type. However, I also started to try to find someone to help me learn.

I wanted someone to help me learn by helping me with my  own writing. I wanted a mentor or a coach. What I found instead were “motivational” mentors who wanted to teach me how to plot and how to get so many words done a day. I had the stories from beginning to end with some missing scenes. Plotting was just a waste of time. I didn’t need a motivational coach. I wanted to learn to write.  I found people willing to “edit”. I discovered there is all kinds of different ways to edit written material.  It didn’t take me long to know that it wasn’t really editing that I needed. I needed a mentor.

In the process of seeking that out, I discovered a rather large internet community of authors. Most importantly, I discovered authors who interacted on-line that I knew, whose books I had read. I found authors whose books inspired my own books. I learned about having an “author platform” and helping people get to know me as an author. I already had my pen name picked out so I went on-line and started getting to know people and created this blog.

I found people willing to beta read and I found coaching and mentoring. It has been wonderful to not be as isolated in my writing.

However, the quantity of my actually writing has decreased substantially.

So, I am writing this blog entry on  “writing focus” as a motivation for myself primarily.  It is the 19th of June.  I have joined a Camp NaNoWriMo for the month of July and I am determined that I will not only complete the 2nd draft of “Bliss-Man” but I will complete a 3rd draft by the end of July. At that point, I plan to start the 2nd draft of “A  Spoonful of Bliss” while I have people reading “Bliss-Man” and giving me editing suggestions and feedback.

I can only do this if I stop interacting so much on FB and reading people’s blogs. I need to really focus on my writing.

Published by: siennabloom

I am a new author, currently working on the Northern Bliss series. These books are erotic romances set in a small town on the shore of Lake Superior that explores the growth of domestic discipline as couple after couple discover it's benefits.

Categories Writing2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Writing focus”

  1. I wish you well in your writing career, Sienna. You seem to have a lot of angst about whether you can write, and the only advice I can offer is to actually sit down and do it. Don’t worry too much about “author platforms” and “writing focus”, just sit down and write. Like everything in life, the more you do something the better you will become. Practice might not make perfect, but it will go a long way to improve your writing. I am still practicing and I am 65 and have written ten books. I hope that I am still improving with each one. Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

